The process of establishing Kano University of science and technology (KUST) Wudil started in 1988 when the Kano state government set up a task force under the chairmanship of Professor Ibrahim H. Umar, the erstwhile vice chancellor of Bayero University, Kano. The taskforce submitted its report in February, 1988, recommending the establishment of the university. Subsequently, a technical committee was inaugurated in July, 1989, to study in detail, the report of the task force. Consequent upon this, an eleven (11) number implementation committee was appointed and assigned the responsibility for the smooth take off of the university in October, 1991. However, due to some technical and administrative problems, the university could only commence academic activities in April, 2001, with six (6) programmes (agriculture, food science and technology, computer science, applied mathematics, pure mathematics and statistics) in two faculties namely; agriculture and agricultural technology (FAAAT) and science and science education (FASSE) respectively. Presently, the university runs eighteen (18) programmes in five (5) faculties namely; agriculture and agricultural technology (agriculture and food science and technology), earth and environmental science.(architecture, geography, urban and regional planning and geology), engineering (electrical, civil and mechanical), mathematical and computing science and statistics) and science and science education (biology, chemistry, physics, biochemistry, microbiology and science education) this is in keeping with the university strategic and phasing plan and in the spirit of our vision and mission.

The first programme accreditation visits to university took place in 2005 and all the programmes were given interim accreditation. The subsequent visit in 2007 gave all the programs full accreditation Kano university of science and technology, Wudil was among the first university to be subjected to institutional accreditation by the national university commission where the university scored B grade, which is interim accreditation for five (5) years.