The process of establishing Kano University of Science andTechnology (KUST) Wudil started in 1988 when the Kano State Government set up a Taskforce under the Chairmanship of Professor Ibrahim H. Umar, the erstwhile Vice Chancellor of Bayero University, Kano. The Taskforce submitted its report in February, 1988, recommending the establishment of the University. Subsequently, a Technical Committee was inaugurated in July, 1989 to study, in detail, the Report of the Task Force. Consequent upon this, an eleven (11) member  implementation Committee was appointed and assigned the responsibility for the smooth take-off of the University in October, 1991

In the year 2000 an Implementation Committee for the take-up of the University was set up by the first administration of Governor Engr. Rabi’u Musa Kwankwaso. The University commenced academic activities in April, 2001. with six (6) programmes (Agriculture, Food Science and Technology Computer Science, Applied Mathematics, Pure Mathematics and Statistics) in two (2) Faculties, namely, Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (FAAAT) and Science and Science Education (FASSE) respectively. Presently, the University runs eighteen (18) programmes in five (5) Faculties namely Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (Agriculture and Food Science and Technology). Earth and Environmental Sciences (Architecture, Geography, Urban and Regional Planning and Geology), Engineering (Electrical, Civil and Mechanical), Mathematical and Computing Sciences (Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics) and Science and Science Education (Biology. Chemistry, Physics Biochemistry, Microbiology and Science Education). This is in line with the Strategic and Physical Development Plan and in the spirit of the Vision and Mission Statement of the University 2005 and all the programmes were given interim accreditation The subsequent visit in 2007 gave all the programmes Full Accreditation Kano University of Science and Technology. Wudil was among the first Universities to be subjected to Institutional accreditation by the National Universities Commission where the University scored B grade which is interim accreditation for five (5) years