Brief History

The Physics Program of Kano University of Science and Technology commenced in the 2001/2002 Academic Session It obtained interim in 2005 and full accreditation in 2007 by National Universities Commission (NUC).

The Department is affiliated to professional bodies such as Physics Society of Nigeria (PSN) etc.


The philosophy of Physics program of Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil is informed by need for the propagation of knowledge of Physics for service to humanity.


The aims and objectives behind the establishment of the department of Physics are:

(i) To provide training in the theory and practice of all aspects of Physics

(ii) To cultivate a curious and enquiring mind and hence stimulate creative thinking in our students

(iii) To develop skills needed in industries and teaching profession

(iv) To inculcate an awareness of the resources as well as developmental problems in the immediate environment and the crucial role of Physics in the task of state and national development.


To be admitted into the 4 year B. Sc. Physics a candidate must have:

UTME Entry Mode: Credit passes in five (5) WAEC/GCE/NECO/NABTEB subjects including English, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and Physics in not more than two (2) sittings

Direct Entry Mode: Two (2) A level passes in Physics and Mathematics or Chemistry in addition 'a' above. NCE at credit level, OND ( Upper Credit) and HND (Lower Credit) are accepted for admission.

Course duration

The duration of the programme is Four (4) years for UTME candidates and Three (3) years for Direct Entry candidates.