Brief History

The first proposal for the establishment of the Department of Geology in KUST was presented in 2004 to the University Senate and the University approved the Proposal in Principle. In 2009 another proposal was submitted for the take up of Academic Programme in the department. Consequently the Department was formally established in November 2011under the Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences.

The Department is currently running four year B.Sc. (Hons) programme.


Student’s academic counseling begins during the period of registration of newly admitted students.  For this purpose the Department has a registration committee working hand-in-hand with the orientation committee.

The Department annually organizes an orientation programme for newly admitted students as part of the University wide orientation exercise.  In addition the Departmental students associations are encouraged on a yearly basis to organize two (2) get together parties, the first for welcoming fresh student at the beginning of the session and the second for sending forth graduating students.

Finally, each student is assigned a four-year academic adviser that will always be ready to guide the student through his academic pursuit.


Candidates admitted into the Department at UTME 100-Level must satisfy the University requirements and that of the Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences. In addition, candidates must have obtained Five Credits at O/Level, which must include English, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics and Biology in not more than two sittings. 

For Direct Entry to 200-Level by those candidates who must possess a minimum of two papers at the GCE 'A' level (or equivalent) in Geology and any of Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, Geography, Botany and Zoology.  Such candidates must have met the University and Faculty requirements include 5-0level Credit in English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics and Biology.

Course duration

The duration of the programme is Four (4) years for UTME candidates and Three (3) years for Direct Entry candidates.