Brief History

Architecture programme commenced in 2001/2002 session in the then Faculty of Environmental Science.  The Department was accredited with interim status in 2005 by the National Universities Commission (NUC) and full accreditation in 2007. The Department was also accredited in 2013 where interim status was granted. It was similarly accredited by Nigerian Institute of Architects (NIA) and Architects Registration Council of Nigeria (ARCON) in June 2010.

However, in the 4-year degree programme runs by the Department of Architecture, courses are grouped into levels each of which spans one academic session.


The philosophy of the programme is geared towards the utilization of our built environment in a sustainable manner. In line with this philosophy, all the courses are oriented towards the understanding of the physical environment.


The objectives of the programme include:

(A) The thorough understanding of the physical environment through the application of Architectural knowledge.

(b) The optimum utilization of our knowledge of Architecture in order to enhance sustainable development.


To be admitted into the 4 yearB. Sc. Architecture a candidate must have;

UTME Entry Mode: Credit passes in five (5) WAEC/GCE/NECO/NABTEB subjects including English, Mathematics,Physics, Chemistry and  any of ( Geography, Technical Drawing, Fine Art, Building Drawing, Wood Work, Economics, Further Mathematics and Biology)  in not more than two (2) sittings.

Direct Entry Mode: Two (2) A level passes in Mathematics/Physics and Chemistry, Geography and Further Mathematics in addition to 'a' above.OND (Upper Credit) and HND (Lower Credit) Architectural Technology, Land Surveying, Urban and Regional Planning (URP) and any other relevant course are accepted for admission.

Course duration

The duration of the programme is Four (4) years for UTME candidates and Three (3) years for Direct Entry candidates.